“There should be no segregation”

With this first motion back in 1952, the newly founded Kentucky Music Teachers Association started its rich and fruitful history.

With the goal of advancing the value of music teaching, music making, and appreciation, KMTA believes that music is integral to the education and development of each Kentuckian. Since our foundation, on October 12, 1952 our organization has continuously served the music teachers and students of our state. Please take a look at some of our rich history below:

Longtime member Naomi J. Oliphant, DMA, NCTM, has put together a wonderful resource about the last thirty-four years of the Kentucky Music Teachers Association. The book features an engaging narrative of KMTA activities and developments over the past forty years, including photos.  Appendices documenting convention history, area chairpersons, and awards are included.

This book, History of the Kentucky Music Teachers Association 1988-2022 is now available for all KMTA members, as either a downloadable (or online viewable) PDF file, or as a physical book.

On our KMTA History Book page, you can find a sample of the history book, as well as an order form to order a physical copy of the book. While the book is free for KMTA members, it does cost $3 to cover shipping costs to anywhere in Kentucky.

You can find the full PDF copy on our Member’s Resources page.

Outstanding KMTA Members and Teachers

KMTA Teachers of the Year

Past Teachers of the Year

2023 – Jessica L. Dorman, Louisville
2022 – Diana Aubrey, Summersville
2021Nancy Stelter, Lexington
2020 – Suellen Shaw, Campbellsville
2019 – Rachel Taylor, Richmond
2018 – Judith Davis, Campbellsville
2017 – William Budai, Campbellsville
2016 – Naomi Oliphant, Louisville
2015 – Krista Wallace-Boaz, Louisville
2014 – Mami Hayashida, Georgetown
2013 – Joanna Ximenes, Louisville
2012 – Wesley Roberts, Campbellsville
2007 – Vernon Cherrix, Louisville
2005 – Donald Speer, Bowling Green
2004 – Irina Voro, Lexington
2003 – May L. Man, Lexington
2000 – Janet Bass Smith, Bowling Green
1999 – Carol Dennes, Louisville
1998 – Jeri Layne, Russell
1997 – Stephen Brown, Murray
1996 – Charles Smith, Bowling Green
1995 – Nathaniel Patch, Lexington
1994 – Dorothy Mason, Murray

Know someone who should be considered for Teacher of the Year? You can find the forms to nominate them on our forms page.

KMTA Distinguished Service Award

Past Distinguished Service Award Winners

2023 – Wes Golightly, Richmond
2022 – Rita Larkin, Covington
2021Nina Belle Durr, Georgetown
2020 Ray Grimm, Madisonville
2019 – Sharon Bertram, Monticello
2018 – Carol Dennes, Louisville
2017 – Jessica L. Dorman, Louisville
2016 – Vicki McVay, Lexington
2014 – Lori Hughes, Ashland
2013 – Mary Britton, Louisville
2012 – Diana Aubrey, Summersville
2011 – Linda Sturgill, Catlettsburg
2010 – Patricia Griffith, Frankfort
2009 – Richard Scott, Murray
2008 – Hazel Carver, Russellville, and Brenda Kee, Louisville
2007 – Stephen Brown, Murray
2006 – Joy Carden, Louisville
2005 – Wesley Roberts, Campbellsville
2004 – David Doran, Louisville
2003 – Marie Hargett, Greenup, and Naomi Oliphant, Louisville
2002 – Maurice Hinson, Louisville, and Eleanor Brown, Murray
2001 – Nancy Parker, Bowling Green
2000 – Janet Bass Smith and Charles Smith, Bowling Green

KMTA Emeritus Members

(+ indicates deceased)
Elliot Alexander +
John Chrisman +
Inez Clayton +
Carol Dennes
David Doran
Nina Belle Durr
Patricia Griffith
Marie Hargett +
Dorothy Hartsell +
Maurice Hinson +
Elizabeth Johnson +
Patricia Montgomery +
Naomi Oliphant
Wesley Roberts
Charles Smith +
John Winter +