Matthew Herman has gotten some much-deserved recognition from MTNA for his composition, Appalachian Variations, which was written as the 2020 Commissioned Composer work for our 2020 Conference. The composition (which is still available to watch on our 2020 Conference page) received an Honorable Mention for MTNA’s “Distinguished Composer of the […]

KYMTA Composer Gets National Recoginition

The Kentucky Music Teachers Association is thrilled to announce the 2nd Annual KMTA e-festival! KMTA is excited to offer an alternative event to in-person festivals traditionally held by local associations in the spring. The KMTA e-festival is an online-only performance opportunity where students receive constructive comments and a rating as […]

2021 e-Festival Registration Open!

It feels like our 2020 Conference just ended (and you can still see any presentations you missed on our conference page), but it’s time to take proposals for this year’s conference. The 2021 Conference will be a joint conference between KMTA and OhioMTA, and take place October 17-19 at Northern […]

2021 Conference Call for Proposals

Here are the results from this year’s MTNA/KMTA Competition and the KMTA Bluegrass Competition. Congratulations to all who participated! MTNA/KMTA Results Composition Elementary Winner: Daniel Zhong, teacher: Jessica Dorman Junior Winner: Calvin Brey, teacher: Gyuli Kambarova Senior Winner: Leena Sfar, teacher: Svetlana AlkhasovSenior Honorable Mention: Carter Latham, teacher: Jessica Dorman […]

2020 MTNA/Bluegrass Competition Results

Like everything else this year, KMTA’s 2020 State Honors Recital has had to go virtual. Thanks to the hard work of Becky Slater, the KMTA State Honors Recital Chairperson, we have done that! Click on a link in the program to see that student’s performance! Additional thanks to Colin Dorman, […]

2020 State Honors Recital Success!

Some (more) sad news, as KMTA has heard about the recent passing of two hugely influential teachers in the past couple of weeks. Dr. Patricia Montgomery was a professor of piano at the University of Kentucky and was head of the keyboard area in the UK School of Music. She […]

In Memoriam: Patricia Montgomery, Janet Bass Smith