MTNA National Competition Winners Announced!

On behalf of Music Teachers National Association, I would like to congratulate all of the finalists in this year’s Composition Competition. Music Teachers National Association is pleased to announce the final results of the national competition.

Winner: Angelina Zheng, Student of Su-Shing Chiu, CA, Southwest
Second Place: Jonah Gharib, Student of Laura Wright, TX, South Central
Third Place: Ian Lin, Student of Alla Cohen, MA, Eastern

Winner: Ty Promreuk, Student of Tomoko Yonemaru, AZ, Southwest
Second Place: Aadhitya Raam Ashok, Student of Kaori Tanioka, NJ, Eastern
Third Place: Ishan Puri, Student of Carl Van Wyk, TX, South Central

Winner: Lauren Vandervelden, Student of Philip Wharton, ID, Northwest
Second Place: Jason Brauer, Student of Debra Perkins, PA, Eastern
Third Place: Charles Berofsky, Student of Logan Skelton, MI, East Central

Young Artist:
Winner: Kristopher Bendrick, Student of Christopher Goldston, IL, East Central
Second Place: Dustin Dunn, Student of W. Thomas McKenney, MO, West Central
Third Place: Justin White, Student of Ladislav Kubik, FL, Southern

This year, the national judges were:
Bruce Berr, Glenview, IL
Joshua Fishbein, Rockville, MD
Ethan Wickman, Helotes, TX

MTNA is pleased to offer the following monetary awards:
Awards made possible by Morty and Iris Manus.

  • Elementary Winner: $500
  • Elementary Second Place: $400
  • Elementary Third Place: $300

Awards made possible by Morty and Iris Manus.

  • Junior Winner: $1,000
  • Junior Second Place: $500
  • Junior Third Place: $300

Awards made possible by the MTNA Foundation Fund

  • Senior Winner: $2,000
  • Senior Second Place: $1,000
  • Senior Third Place: $300

Awards made possible by the MTNA Foundation Fund

  • Young Artist Winner: $3,000
  • Young Artist Second Place: $1,500
  • Young Artist Third Place: $300

All national first-place winning compositions must be performed at the MTNA National Conference March 18–22, 2017, in Baltimore, Maryland.

  • If the first-place winner is unable to attend the National Conference and arrange for a live performance of their composition:
    1. The first-place ranking will be retained, but cash awards for entrant will be forfeited and
    2. The second-place winner will be given the opportunity to perform.
  • If the second-place winner accepts this opportunity, the entrant will receive the first-place cash award in lieu of the second-place cash award.

Each national finalist will receive one complimentary copy of the Commemorative Competition Program Book in which you are recognized. Additional books may be purchased by using the online form and following these directions:

  1. On the first page, click I agree with the cancellation policy.
  2. On the next page, use Coupon Code 1031.
  3. Click on Register as a non-member.
  4. On the next page, fill all required fields. Please note that you are not actually registering for the conference. Be sure to click student competitor.
  5. Scroll to the bottom and click on Commemorative Competition Book under events and select the number you wish to purchase.
  6. Fill in your credit card information and submit.

As an alternative, you can call (888) 512-5278, ext. 237 speak to Melissa Curtice to place your order no later than 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time, February 15, 2017.

Congratulations again to all of the finalists! You should be very proud of your accomplishment. We hope that the comments you receive from the judges will be helpful to you and your teacher. Your efforts are to be commended and we hope that you will continue to learn and grow as a composer. Good luck with your musical studies!

Christopher Goldston, National Composition Coordinator
(773) 580-7301